The (Long) Weekend Bake: Banana Bread Fruit Muffins

I can’t say I’m quite at this level of baking yet, but I have started experimenting more with my own recipes – so am definitely making some progress!

Being the start of the Easter long weekend, I wanted something sweet to start my day.  I briefly considered walking to the supermarket and buying some hot cross buns, but decided instead to bake something myself.  I had some over-ripe bananas just calling out to be used anyway.

This morning’s effort morphed quickly from what was originally going to be a loaf of banana bread, into banana muffins, then into fruit muffins as I had some dried fruit in the pantry to throw in for good measure.

These muffins make a delicious (and much more nutritious) alternative to store-bought hot cross buns.

The resulting recipe looked like this – Enjoy!

Banana Bread Fruit Muffins (makes 6 supersized, or 12 standard sized muffins – I opted for supersized on this gluttonous, treat-filled holiday weekend)

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3 free-range eggs
  • 60g butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp raw honey (you may need to warm this – I dropped it into the melted butter to liquefy a little more before combining with the other ingredients)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk (or natural yoghurt)
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste / extract / powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 cups wholemeal spelt flour
  • approx 10 dates, pitted and chopped
  • 1/4 cup sultanas
  • Seeds or shaved nuts, to top the muffins (optional – I used a combo I found in the pantry)

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 175°C
  • Line a muffin tin with baking paper, muffin cases or grease with butter
  • In one bowl (or food processor), beat the eggs, butter, honey, baking powder, baking soda, buttermilk, vanilla, cinnamon and salt until well combined.
  • Add banana and mix through
  • Add the flour to the wet mix and fold through until it has just come together – try not to over mix
  • Fold through the dates and sultanas
  • Spoon the mix into the muffin cases evenly
  • Sprinkle each muffin with a few seeds or nuts if desired
  • Bake for 25 mins (large muffin tin) or until a skewer tested in the centre of a muffin comes out clean.  If you are using a standard sized muffin tin, I would check after about 18-20 minutes.
  • Let the muffins cool slightly on a wire rack and serve with a smear of butter

BB Fruit Muffins (1 of 4)

BB Fruit Muffins (2 of 4)

BB Fruit Muffins (3 of 4)

BB Fruit Muffins (4 of 4)

Leave a Reply

