The Weekend Bake: Spiced Pear & Almond Muffins

I do love a good sturdy breakfast muffin! So these spiced pear & almond creations were just what I was looking for – I made a batch on the weekend then froze them individually for a quick work breakfast during the week.

I was inspired by this recipe, however as usual I decided to make a few changes – for one, I didn’t actually have any spelt flour so I used wholemeal flour which still worked a treat.

I also replaced ground ginger with fresh and bumped up the spice quota a little – you can’t beat the taste of freshly grated ginger and nutmeg and the flavours complemented the fruit & nuts so well.

Speaking of nuts, the original recipe called for walnuts, but I’m a much bigger fan of almonds so went with blanched almonds, crushed and also whole (to decorate the top).  I’m sure you could also replace this with macadamias or pecans just as well.

So, here is what the recipe ended up looking like:

Spiced Pear & Almond Muffins

2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp fresh ginger, finely grated
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
1 1/4 cup wholemeal flour
1 1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup pear puree (I mashed a tin of drained pear halves in juice)
4 egg whites, lightly beaten
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup raw honey
1 firm pear, peeled, cored, and cut into a small dice
3/4 cup blanched almonds, crushed with a rolling pin
Extra almonds for decoration

  • Preheat oven to 180°c (I dropped this slightly from the original recipe as I was using fan forced)
  • In one mixing bowl, add all the dry ingredients (baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, flour and oats).
  • Stir to blend and make a well in the middle.
  • Lightly beat the egg whites until they are foamy.
  • Add the yoghurt, pear puree, ginger, and honey to the dry ingredients and stir to just combine the mix.
  • Add the egg whites and gently fold into the batter.
  • Add the diced pear, crushed almonds and mix carefully to incorporate – try not to overmix.
  • Spoon the batter into muffin tins lined with cupcake liners – I used a large muffin tin of 6 – but the batter made 8 muffins altogether – I had to do them in 2 batches.
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes, then test with a skewer – it should come out clean. At 180 degrees I baked these muffins closer to 30 mins (just under)
  • If you are using a smaller muffin tin (to bake 12), then I’d probably check after 25 mins.

Pear 1

Pear 2

Pear 3

Pear 4

Pear 5

One thought on “The Weekend Bake: Spiced Pear & Almond Muffins

Leave a Reply

