The Weekend Bake: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Yup, I must have a thing for peanut butter – 2 weeks in a row!

The original Greek Yogurt Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes recipe I took inspiration from (here) didn’t include peanut butter but I thought I’d throw some in to add a little saltiness to the chocolately sweetness of these moist, fudgy cupcakes.

A few amendments made to the original recipe, and I was very happy with the result:

2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 stick unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate (I used stoneground organic chocolate from Terra Madre)
1 cup Rapadura (instead of processed white & brown sugar)
2 large eggs + 1 large egg yolk, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup + 3 tablespoons whole wheat flour, not packed
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup raw cacao powder
2 tablespoons of peanut butter
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/2 cup boiling water

Rice Bran oil spray to grease the patties

Banana Chips and Green & Black’s dark chocolate for decoration later

Cupcakes (1 of 6)

Whilst happy with the receipe for the cakes themselves, I learnt another lesson today:  I need a LOT more practise with frosting!

My icing ended up a little too liquidy and I didn’t have enough dry ingredients left to thicken it up.  Perhaps I was also being a little miserly on the butter??  Any frosting tips welcome!

Either way, it hasn’t held back the flavour here – these are moist and super-chocolately with a slight savoury saltiness from the peanut butter, exactly what I needed on a lazy Sunday afternoon.

Cupcakes (2 of 6)

The ingredients above made 12 standard size cupcakes, plus 6 mini ones:

Cupcakes (3 of 6)

Super-intensifying the chocolate quota with 3 layers of choc:

Cupcakes (4 of 6)

Cupcakes (5 of 6)

Cupcakes (6 of 6)

Leave a Reply

