The Weekend Bake:  Peanut Choc-chip Banana Bread

I’ve been a little obsessed with Pinterest of late, and have been feverishly saving recipes I want to try out.

I came across this little number the other day and decided to give it a shot – http://www.makeandtakes.com/peanut-butter-banana-bread 

I love all variations of banana bread, and Bunzor (my resident Bunny) was also extremely excited by the prospect of a slice of banana coming his way during the cooking process.

I try to avoid processed sugar and use whole foods when I’m baking, so made some slight amendments to the original recipe –

Firstly, I replaced the brown sugar with rapadura (aka panela sugar).  I also ditched the standard white and used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and I also decided to use plain greek yoghurt instead of milk.

Lastly, I added 1/4 cup of rolled oats and a handful of cocoa nibs for good measure.

All in all, pretty happy with the result – although this is my first time cooking with cocoa nibs and I think I’ll use them more sparingly next time as they have quite a punchy bitterness.

It was delicious warm with a little butter, and I’m looking forward to toasting it tomorrow morning for breakfast & caramelising the surface!

Peanut Choc Chip Banana Bread 2 WEB     Peanut Choc Chip Banana Bread 1 WEB

One thought on “The Weekend Bake:  Peanut Choc-chip Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

